Instagram introduces a setting to control sensitive content in your Explore tab

Facebook has added a new feature to Instagram called Sensitive Content Control. This allows users to decide for themselves to what extent they are presented with ‘sensitive messages’ in the Explore tab. The option is only available to users who are 18 years of age or older.

Instagram’s Explore tab shows posts to users that may be of interest to them. It concerns messages from influencers or other Instagram users to which they are not subscribed, but which may appeal to their imagination. Facebook’s algorithm determines which posts from which Instagrammers appear on the Explore tab. To do this, the algorithm combines various factors, such as your interests, which messages you like and which channels you follow.

When placing the messages in the Explore tab, it is possible that ‘sensitive messages’ are shown. By this, Facebook refers to messages that you may consider to be sexually-oriented, violent or suggestive. While they don’t violate Instagram’s guidelines, you may find them offensive and would rather not see them. For example, consider someone wearing see-through clothes or playing with toy guns.

To accommodate these people, Facebook has come up with Sensitive Content Control. As the name suggests, this button gives Instagram users control over the content they see in the Explore tab. By default, Sensitive Content Control is set to restrict. This allows photos and videos that you may find offensive. The option ‘Limit even more’ ensures that you are not presented with provocative content. On the other hand, if you want to see everything, choose ‘Allow’.

“We recognize that everyone has different preferences for what they want to see in Explore, and this control will give people more choice about what they see,” Facebook said. Mark Zuckerberg’s social network aims to give users a tool to create and shape their own Instagram experience. It should be noted that Sensitive Content Control is only available to users who are 18 years of age or older.

To make adjustments, go to Settings > Account > Sensitive Content Control and choose the setting that suits you best.

It is not the first new feature that Facebook is introducing for Instagram this year. In February, the platform presented Recently Deleted, a security measure against hackers. This functionality ensures that if someone takes over your account, they will not be able to delete all your photos and videos. If a hacker tries that, your content will end up in a trash can.

To view the contents of the trash or to permanently empty it, you must verify your identity by email or text message. Only then is it possible to delete photos and videos that have ended up in the trash. Recently Deleted also offers a solution for users who have accidentally deleted something that was not intended. They must then correct their mistake within thirty days. If not, the trash will still be emptied.

Catch up on more articles here

Follow us on Twitter here

Popular

Must read

MORE ON THIS TOPIC:

Related Posts