Sly Scylla adware infiltrated 13 million Android and iOS devices

Sly Scylla adware infiltrated 13 million Android and iOS devices

The HUMAN Satori Threat Intelligence team found 75 unwanted apps in the Google Play Store and 10 more in the App Store. By their type, these are classic adware, and the total number of their installations reaches 13 million.

Not only does this software “bomb” the user with advertisements (both visible and hidden), the programs also generate clicks that operators need. In general, a standard set for making a profit from advertising activity.

The researchers combined all the programs they found under a common name – “Scylla“. It is believed that this is the third such wave of attacks by this adware, which started in August 2019 under the code name “Poseidon“.

Satori notified Google and Apple about the threat, after which the companies removed unwanted software from their official stores. If you have an Android smartphone, adware should be uninstalled automatically (for this, the Play Protect function must be enabled ).

A short list of malware for each platform is given below.

iOS:

  • Loot the Castle – com.loot.rcastle.fight.battle (id1602634568)
  • Run Bridge – com.run.bridge.race (id1584737005)
  • Shinning Gun – com.shinning.gun.ios (id1588037078)
  • Racing Legend 3D – com.racing.legend.like (id1589579456) Rope Runner – com.rope.runner.family (id1614987707)
  • Wood Sculptor – com.wood.sculptor.cutter (id1603211466)
  • Fire-Wall – com.fire.wall.poptit (id1540542924)
  • Ninja Critical Hit – wger.ninjacriticalhit.ios (id1514055403)
  • Tony Runs – com.TonyRuns.game
  • Android:
  • Super Hero-Save the world! – com.asuper.man.playmilk
  • Spot 10 Differences – com.different.ten.spotgames
  • Find 5 Differences – com.find.five.subtle.differences.spot.new
  • Dinosaur Legend – com.huluwagames.dinosaur.legend.play
  • One Line Drawing – com.one.line.drawing.stroke.yuxi
  • Shoot Master – com.shooter.master.bullet.puzzle.huahong
  • Talent Trap – NEW – com.talent.trap.stop.all

The full list can be found in the expert report.

Catch up on more articles here

Follow us on Twitter here

Popular

Must read

MORE ON THIS TOPIC:

Related Posts